Primary Care Physicians

Friday, 08 June 2012 14:08

What are the types of hearing loss?

There are 4 types of hearing loss:

  1. conductive hearing loss
  2. sensorineural hearing loss
  3. mixed hearing loss
  4. Auditory Neuropathy Spectrum Disorder.

View information on these types of hearing loss in easy to understand, non-technical terms.

Published in EHDI Content

The Newborn Hearing Screening and Intervention Program of the PA Department of Health (PA DOH) works with physicians to ensure that babies receive a hearing screening no later than 1 month of age and that babies who do not pass their hearing screening receive a diagnostic evaluation by an audiologist no later than 3 months of age.

Find out more about the Newborn Hearing Screening and Intervention Program

Let us assist you in finding an audiologist in your area

Locate an audiologist